Flag  Picture
Map  Picture
Introduction
Located in the easternmost part of the Lesser Sunda Islands in South-east Asia, East Timor covers an area of 14,874 square kilometres. The country is divided into 13 districts and has a population of 1.2 million, with only a small number of Chinese. The capital Dili, located in the island of Timor, is a deep water port and the political, economic and cultural centre of East Timor.
East Timor imposes no foreign exchange controls and allows free capital flow. The common currency is the US dollar. East Timor’s main natural resources include gold, manganese, chromium, tin and copper. The Timor Sea has rich reserves of oil and natural gas, and about 80% of the country’s fiscal revenue comes from the sale of oil and natural gas.
Since 2009, East Timor has maintained a stable political situation, continuously improved its public order and achieved a steady economic growth. To further accelerate the development of industrial and manufacturing industries, in recent years, the government has engaged in the construction of roads, airports, ports, public utilities, telecommunication infrastructure, agricultural facilities and other projects.
Investment Environment
Trade Invest Timor-Lest is the department responsible for investment in East Timor, which is affiliated to the Department of Trade, Industry and Environment. To attract foreign investment, the East Timor government has launched a series of preferential policies for exemption and reduction of tariffs and sales taxes. Investments in different regions in the country are exempted from charges for lease of state-owned land, and taxes payable are reduced or exempted at a certain percentage for employment of local workers. In 2013, the government passed a resolution to set up the special economic zone in Oecussi, where enterprises enjoy a preferential treatment of “one policy for one enterprise” apart from the existing tax incentives.
In addition, the East Timor government also encourages locals to set up foreign-local joint ventures, but there are currently no related procedures for foreign acquisitions and the operational processes have to be improved and there is no local professional organization providing such consulting services, so most  foreigners set up their businesses as sole proprietorship.
The East Timor government has emphasized on attracting foreign investments. In recent years, it has promulgated a series of laws and regulations to improve the investment environment, including the Labour Law, the National Investment Law, the Foreign Investment Law, the Commercial Registration Law, the Health Law for Inspection and Quarantine of Import and Export Goods and the Land Law.
In 2008, the East Timor government started to reform the tax policies to build East Timor into one of the countries with the lowest tax rates in the world. Through reducing tax and simplifying the tax payment process, the government is striving to stimulate domestic economic growth, promote domestic and foreign investment and reduce the economic burden for low-income earners. At present, the main taxes are service tax, excise tax, sales tax, import duty and income tax.
Economy and Trade
According to the statistics, the major trading partners of East Timor are Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, China, Vietnam, Japan, Australia and other countries. East Timor mainly exports oil to other countries; meanwhile, the exports of coffee have also increased in recent years.
According to Chinese customs statistics, the products exported by China to East Timor mainly include: electrical and mechanical products, automobiles and steel, while the products imported by China from East Timor mainly include: mechanical and electrical products, wood, plastic products, coffee and tea.

Annual Indicators

2013(a) 2014(a) 2015(a) 2016(b)
Area Sq Km 14,609 14,609 14,609 14,609
Population (m) 1.1 1.2 1.2(b) 1.2
GDP at market prices (US$ bn) 5.596 4.175 4.167(b) 4.160
Real GDP growth(%) -13.9 -27.0 -2.2(b) -1.7
Consumer price inflation (av;%) 11.2 0.4 0.6 -1.3
Exports of goods fob (US$ m) 17.7 15.5 18.0 (-)
Imports of goods fob (US$ m) -696.2 -764.2 -652.9 (-)
Current – account balance (US$ m) 2,390.0 1,106.20 238.40 (-)

(a) Actual (b) EIU estimates

Main Destinations of Exports and Imports

Main Destinations of Exports (2015) (b) % of total
Singapore 92.0
Japan 2.0
Germany 1.0
Main Origins of Imports (2015) % of total
Indonesia 36.0
Singapore 25.0
China 18.0

(b) Excluding re-exports

Principal Exports (2014) (a) US$ m Principal Imports (2014) US$ m
Coffee 13.8 Mineral Fuel 159.9
Vehicles 74.9
Cereals 32
Machinery & parts 31.6

Mainland China-East Timor Bilateral Trade (US$ 10,000)

Year Total Exports* Imports*
2014 6044 6034 10
2015 10526 10453 73

* China’s export value to East Timor
** China’s import value to East Timor

Trade between Macau –East Timor (Mop)

Year Total Export* Import**
2013 114,142 0 114,142
2012 831,871 0 831,871

* Macau’s export value to East Timor
** Macau’s import from East Timor

Source:

  • Guide for Countries and Regions on Overseas Investment and Co-operation – East Timor
  • Chinese Academy of International Trade and Economic Co-operation of Ministry of Commerce
  • Investment Promotion Agency of Ministry of Commerce
  • Economic and Commercial Counselor’s Office of the Embassy of China in East Timor
  • China Statistical Yearbook 2016
  • The Economic Intelligence Unit – Country Report
  • The Macau Statistics and Census Department

国旗  图片
地图  图片
简介
东帝汶位于东南亚努沙登加拉群岛最东端,国土面积14,874平方公里。全国分为13地区,人口约120万,全国只有少数华人。首都帝力(Dili)位于帝汶岛,是深水港,也是全国政经和文化中心。
东帝汶没有外匯管制,资金可自由匯入和匯出。通用货币为美元,并发行与美元硬币等值的本国货币。东帝汶的自然资源主要有金、锰、铬、锡、铜等。帝汶海有储量丰富的石油和天然气,该国的主要约80%的财政收入主要来自出售油气。

自2009年以来,东帝汶政局较平稳,社会治安持续转好,经济稳步发展。为进一步加速工业及制造业发展,东帝汶政府近年已积极着手建设道路、机场、码头、市政、通讯、农业设施等项目。

投资环境
东帝汶的投资主管部门是东帝汶贸易投资局(Trade Invest Timor-Lest),该局属贸易、工业和与环境部。为了吸引外来投资,东帝汶政府推出了一系列的关税和营业税减免的优惠政策,在国内不同地区投资,可免除一定年限的国有土地租金,僱佣当地劳工,可减免一定比例的应纳税额等。2013年,东帝汶政府通过决议,在欧库西(Oecussi)地区设立经济特区,除享受原有税收优惠政策外,还可享受一企一策的特殊约定优惠待遇。
另,东帝汶政府亦同样鼓励外资与当地人合资,但因暂无有关外资併购的手续及操作流程亦有待完善,当地亦无提供此类咨询的专业机构,故此,但大部分外国人在东帝汶都採用独资方式。
东帝汶政府重视吸引外资,近年来已陆续推出《劳动法》、《国民投资法》、《外国投资法》、《商业註册法》、《进出口货物检验检疫衞生法》、《土地法》等一系列法律法规,以改善投资环境。
于2008年,东帝汶政府对税收政策亦进行了改革,致力于将东帝汶打造成为世界上税收最低的国家之一。通过减税和简化税收手续的方法,刺激国内经济发展,促进国内和外来投资,并减轻低收入者的负担。现时,主要税项包括:劳务税(Service Tax)、消费税(Excise Tax)、营业税(Sales Tax)、进口税(Import Duty)、所得税(Income Tax)等。
经贸概况
根据资料显示,东帝汶主要贸易伙伴为印尼、马来西亚、新加坡、中国、越南、日本、澳洲等国家。出口产品以石油为主。同时,咖啡出口量近年亦有上升。
据中国海关统计,中国对东帝汶出口的产品主要包括:电机产品、机械、汽车、钢铁等。从东帝汶进口的产品主要包括:电机产品、木材、塑料、咖啡及茶等。

年度指标

2013(a) 2014(a) 2015(a) 2016(b)
面积(平方公里) 14,609 14,609 14,609 14,609
人口(百万) 1.1 1.2 1.2(b) 1.2
以市价计算的国内生产总值 (10亿美元) 5.596 4.175 4.167(b) 4.160
生产总值的实质增长 (%) -13.9 -27.0 -2.2(b) -1.7
消费物价通涨 (%) 11.2 0.4 0.6 -1.3
出口总值,离岸值 (百万美元) 17.7 15.5 18.0 (-)
入口总值,离岸值 (百万美元) -696.2 -764.2 -652.9 (-)
经常帐结存 (经常帐结存) 2,390.0 1,106.20 238.40 (-)

(a) 实际数字 (b) (EIU)估计数值

主要出口目的地(2015) (b) 佔总数百分比
新加坡 92.0
日本 2.0
德国 1.0
主要入口来源地(2015) (b) 佔总数百分比
印尼 36.0
新加坡 25.0
中国 18.0

(a) 不包括再出口贸易

主要产品(2014)

出口 百万美元 入口 百万美元
咖啡 13.8 矿物燃料 159.9
车辆 74.9
谷物 32
电动机械及设备 31.6

中国与东帝汶的双边贸易统计 (10万美元)

年份 进出口总额 出口* 进口**
2014 6044 6034 10
2015 10526 10453 73

* 中国出口至东帝汶之货值
** 中国从东帝汶进口之货值

澳门与东帝汶的双边贸易统计 (澳门币)

年份 进出口总额 出口* 进口**
2012 831,871 0 831,871
2013 114,142 0 114,142

* 澳门出口至东帝汶之货值
** 澳门从东帝汶进口之货值

资料来源:

  • 《对外投资合作国别(地区)指南》之《东帝汶》
  • 商务部国际贸易经济合作研究院
  • 商务部投资促进事务局
  • 中国驻东帝汶大使馆经济商务参贊处
  • 《中国统计年鑑》2016
  • 英国经济学人资讯中心–国家简介/国家报告
  • 澳门统计暨普查局