Macao – Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries

Due to historical ties, Macao has forged close and extensive connections with Portuguese-speaking countries (PSCs) across four continents which cover a total population of over 200 million, and therefore plays the role as a Commercial and Trade Co-operation Service Platform between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below as ‘the Platform’).

The Ministerial Conference of the Forum for Economic and Trade Co-operation between China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below as ‘Forum Macao’) has been convened in Macao five times since 2003, and during each session a Strategic Plan for Economic and Trade Co-operation was signed. The Permanent Secretariat of Forum Macao was established in Macao in 2004 to execute and implement the resolutions approved at the conference.

In the 5th Ministerial Conference of Forum Macao in October 2016, leaders of China and PSCs signed the Strategic Plan for Economic and Trade Co-operation (2017-2019), which identified key areas and the development direction for economic and trade co-operation between both sides over the following three years. Premier of the State Council Li Keqiang delivered a keynote speech and announced various new supportive measures for the development of Macao in taking on the role as the Platform. After the conference, Macao SAR Government proceeded to implement the measures and forge ahead with the various objectives that had been set.

In October 2016, trade promotion organisations from Mainland China, Macao and PSCs participated in the inauguration of the China-Portuguese-speaking Countries Federation of Entrepreneurs and signed various co-operation agreements. On 1 June 2017, the China and Portuguese-speaking Countries Co-operation and Development Fund headquarter was inaugurated at a signing ceremony, signifying that the Fund has officially established a foothold in Macao. Furthermore, the Complex of Commerce and Trade Co-operation Platform for China and Portuguese-speaking Countries (referred to below as ‘the Complex’), which occupies an area of 14,200 square metres and has a gross floor area of 50,000 square metres, will become the venue of  Forum Macao in future and provide facilitation services for co-operation between China and PSCs with its integrated functions covering commercial services, economic and trade negotiations, product display, cultural exhibitions and information exchange. Premier Xi Jinping also visited the Complex during his official trip to Macao in celebration of the 20th anniversary of Macao’s handover in December 2019.

Meanwhile, Macao is constructing an extension of the Platform: Three Centres, namely a food product distribution centre for PSCs, a convention and exhibition centre for economic and trade co-operation between China and PSCs, and a commercial and trade service centre for SMEs of China and PSCs. The Macao SAR Government is working on the orderly development of the Three Centres through a series of online and offline efforts, as well as lending support to enterprises and investors from Mainland China and PSCs in exploring co-operation opportunities.

Macao is a city free from external debt and foreign currency restrictions, and enjoys the status as both a free port and a separate customs territory. It adopts a simple and low taxation system with a corporate profit tax rate not exceeding 12%. Macao has a public administration structure and legal system based on those of Portugal and follows a public administration and legal regime similar to other PSCs, which facilitates an understanding of respective systems between China and PSCs. In addition to Chinese, Portuguese is also the official language of Macao, and contracts and agreements in both languages are signed between enterprises. Macao has a large pool of bilingual professionals as well as many Portuguese expatriates and immigrants who can provide translation/interpretation, accounting and legal services to enterprises from the mainland and PSCs during their commercial negations and co-operation. After years of effort, Macao’s role as a platform between China and PSCs has obtained international recognition, continuously promoting cultural exchange, trade and investment, and industry-wide co-operation between China and PSCs, while providing support to China in ‘going global’ and ‘attracting investments’.

Attachment: Portuguese speaking countries economic data in 2020

澳门:中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台

基于歷史渊源,澳门与横跨四大洲、人口两亿多的葡语国家有着紧密且广泛的联繫,发挥着“中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台”(以下简称“中葡平台”)的作用。

自2003年首届中国-葡语国家经贸合作论坛(澳门)(以下简称“中葡论坛”)部长级会议在澳门举行以来,已先后举行了五届,每届会议均通过了经贸合作行动纲领。期间,2004年中葡论坛常设秘书处在澳门正式设立,负责执行和落实部长级会议作出的各项决定。

2016年10月举行的“中葡论坛”第五届部长级会议,论坛与会国共同签署了《经贸合作行动纲领(2017-2019年)》等文件,明确未来三年中国与葡语国家经贸合作的主要领域和发展方向。会上,国务院总理李克强发表主旨演讲,并宣佈多项支持澳门“中葡平台”建设的新举措。会后,澳门特区政府积极落实有关的举措,推进各项工作开展。

其中,2016年10月,中国内地、澳门与葡语国家的贸促机构为“中国与葡语国家企业家联合会”揭牌并签署合作协议。2017年6月1日,“中葡合作发展基金”总部揭牌及签约仪式举行,标志着基金正式落户澳门。另外,佔地约14,200平方米、建筑面积约50,000平方米的“中国与葡语国家商贸合作服务平台综合体”(以下简称“综合体”),将作为每届“中葡论坛”固定会议场地,集商贸服务、经贸洽谈、商品展示、文化展览、信息交流于一体,为中国与葡语国家友好合作提供便利服务。2019年12月,国家主席习近平来澳出席澳门特区回归二十周年活动期间,曾到“综合体”进行考察。

另一方面,澳门正积极建设“中葡平台”延伸的“三个中心”,即“葡语国家食品集散中心”、“中葡经贸合作会展中心”和“中葡中小企业商贸服务中心”。澳门特区政府正通过线上、线下一系列工作,有序落实“三个中心”的建设,向中国与葡语国家企业和投资者在开拓业务合作上提供支援。

事实上,澳门没有外债,没有外匯管制,享有自由港及单独关税区地位,税制简单且税率低,企业所得补充税税率最高仅为12%。同时,澳门的公共行政架构和法律体系源自葡萄牙,与其他葡语国家的公共行政和法律制度相近,有助于中国与葡语国家了解对方的相关制度。语言上,除了使用中文外,葡文亦为澳门的正式语文,企业在订立合约时以中文及葡文签订。加上澳门拥有众多中葡双语人才,以及不少的葡侨和葡籍移民,可为中国与葡语国家的商务洽谈和合作提供翻译、会计、法律等专业服务。经过多年努力,澳门的平台地位已逐渐获国际认同,推动着中国与葡语国家的人文交流、贸易投资、产业合作等,为中国实施“走出去、引进来”提供服务。

附件:2020年葡语国家经贸数据资料